Feeling Young?

This morning, Matzah and Meatball discussed a story about Vince Young talking about getting ready for the start of a new football season. In it, he acknowledges that he is fighting for a job that is not his. He also said something else that was very interesting:

“I definitely want to get back out there playing ball and picking up where I left off, winning games and having a good time with my teammates and with the fans. At the same time, if them guys don’t want me to be in there, it’s time for me to make a career change for myself.”

A career change…. A career change Vince? Now don’t get me wrong. Mr Young has tools to be a great qb in this league. Shoot, he has decent numbers considering how young he is. But if I was Mr. Young, and trust me, he is on the long list of athletes I want God to switch my bodies with one day when He finally answers my prayers, I would be very glad with my situation.

There is the fact that he isn’t a prized throwing jewel that fits 95% of the offenses out there. There is the fact that the 2 years he was leading the offense, he benefited from a very underrated defense. There is the fact that, in the end, he acted like a little bitch during the season after the doctors cleared him to go back into a game and he refused. There is the fact that next year, a couple of REALLY GOOD QB prospects will be in the draft.

Kerry Collins turns 37 towards the end of this season. He can’t stay around forever. The nucleus of this team is really young (and good). I implore Mr. Young to think before he acts and just play football. The world isn’t as full with better options as you think.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Feeling Young?

  1. Glenn

    Looks like Young really didn’t ask for a trade.
    http://tinyurl.com/oxpojg

Leave a Reply

